PM to chair new cross-government climate change committee

Prime Minister Boris Johnson is to chair a new committee set up to drive action across government to protect the environment, improve air quality and cut emissions.

Announced on 17 October, the Cabinet Committee on Climate Change will bring together ministers responsible for both domestic and international climate change policy, while providing a forum to hold departments to account for their actions on climate. It will include the Foreign Secretary, the Chancellor, the Business Secretary, the Environment Secretary and the Transport Secretary as well as representation from other departments responsible for taking the agenda forwards.

The committee will also be tasked with overseeing the UK’s preparations ahead of hosting COP26 in November 2020.

Johnson said: “We know that people across the UK are passionate about protecting our planet, and we need to continue building on the excellent progress this government has made in tackling climate change and improving our environment.”